Women of Benghazi

11166084_10200485569379350_898659445_n

unknown street in downtown Benghazi . photographer unknown

 

 

When I see the photos of Benghazi’s streets and the amount of destruction that fell upon that beautiful city, my heart sinks.  It may sound weird but I find comfort in looking through old world war photos of Berlin, London, Hiroshima, Stalingrad and Paris. It can and it will be rebuilt. We all had our lives stopped, but this is inevitable in Benghazi’s situation. So today we’re sharing with you four stories from different women from Benghazi

 

Sahar

The first thing that happened to me was the suspension of my studies. This really affected me negatively. I had to leave my home in Laithi district which was one of the hardest things I’ve had to do .  We evacuated while Benghazi was under bombardment in the middle of winter. Left the place where our whole lives were spent; Our memories , our books and everything study related . I was mentally exhausted from hearing the sounds of the bombing, my heart ached for my city and the place where I studied. But Elhamdolilah for everything.

My daily life became very dull with nothing new. I’ve been like this for 6 months now. When this nightmare ends I won’t remember any of it at all. There wasn’t a single good day to enjoy.

Even though I’ve just told you about how my life has been halted I still believe in Benghazi

I’d do it again for my country, for Benghazi . My life’s not important as long as the country gets better. As long as we have peace, my dream for my country is that the pain leaves you and the rest can be replaced.

 ((وَعسَى أن تَكرَهُوا شَيْئًا وَهُو خيرٌ لَكُمْ وعَسى أن تُحبُّوا شَيْئًا وهُو شَرٌّ لَكُمْ وَاللهُ يَعلمُ وأَنتُم لا تَعلَمونَ)) البقرة: 216 

Sarah

My story is closely related to the conflict in our city and the suspension of my studies. I’m sure you all know what’s happening in Benghazi. My education was put on hold and that affected me badly .when all your ambitions are built on being a better student to achieve your goals quickly and then your plans all come crashing down. You can’t even continue to plan the future you set out for yourself because of all the uncertainty. There isn’t anything official from the education ministry on when we can resume studying. Civil society movements are trying their best to solve this issue but it’s still going nowhere. I only believe in studying inside the walls of a classroom, it’s the traditional setting we’re used to.

Bushra

 I had a dream of getting job after getting my Masters  degree as an engineer . Unfortunately the war started shortly after I graduated from college and got my Bsc degree. My ambition was high but things didn’t happen as I planned. So here I am a hopeless fresh young graduate with no job or anything to add to my CV .I still keep holding onto my dreams trusting in Allah. I know things going to be alright in some-point.

Hajer

I’m  a 22 year old  engineering student with only one semester to go .  I’ve been repeating  that quite A LOT lately. My whole life has been put on pause . I’m almost an engineer but it’s not good enough for a job.  I live in Benghazi but I’ve been Internally displaced along with the  my family for 6 months now. Life is semi normal for some but not me; I can’t remember the last time I went out anywhere. I’ve been living this vampire style life now for about a year. The sounds of flying missiles outside are more like a life soundtrack now. The amount of death we see on the news made it all seem so natural. What’s freaking me out is how this is all turning into my normal every day routine . I know there’s a meaning in all of this sufferings but I’m going to need a lot of Intensive therapy when this is over nonetheless.

 شاركي معنا بقصتك – Add your story 

Leave a Reply

